Reference laboratories located in the Region of the Americas

ARGENTINA

  • Brucellosis (Brucella abortus + Brucella melitensis + Brucella suis) + Ovine epididymitis (Brucella ovis)

    Dr Ana Maria Nicola
    Dirección General de Laboratorios y Control Técnico
    Servicio Nacional de Sanidad y Calidad Agroalimentaria (SENASA)
    Centro Buenos Aires para la Capacitación de los Servicios Veterinarios
    Talcahuano 1660, (1640)
    Tel: +54-11 48 36 11 17
    Fax: +54-11 48 36 11 17
    Email1: anicola@senasa.gob.ar
    Email2: nicolaana@hotmail.com
    Web: www.cebasev.gov.ar

  • Footh and Mouth disease

    Dr Andrea Pedemonte
    Laboratorio de Fiebre Aftosa de la Dirección de Laboratorios y Control Técnico
    Av. Sir. Alexander Fleming 1653, Martínez (1640), Buenos Aires
    Tel: +54-11 48.36.19.95
    Fax: +54-11 48.36.19.95
    Email: apedemon@senasa.gov.ar

  • Leptospirosis

    Dr Jessica Petrakovsky (1)
    Laboratorio de Leptospirosis Dirección General de Laboratorios y Control Técnico
    Servicio Nacional de Sanidad y Calidad Agroalimentaria (SENASA)
    Avenida Talcahuano N° 1660, Martínez (1640), Pcia de Buenos Aires
    Tel: +54-11 48.36.11.14 int 287 o 299
    Fax: +54-11 48.36.11.17 int 288
    Email: jpetrako@senasa.gov.ar

    Luis Samartino (2)
    CICVyA INTA
    Instituto de Bacteriología
    Casilla de Correo 25
    Castelar 1712, Provincia de Buenos Aires
    ARGENTINA
    Tel: +54-11 46 21 12 89
    Fax: +54-11 46 21 17 12
    Email: samartino.luis@inta.gob.ar

  • Infection of honey bees with Paenibacillus larvae (American foulbrood)

    Dr Adriana Alippi
    Facultad de Ciencias Agrarias y Forestales
    Universidad Nacional de La Plata
    Unidad de Bacteriología del Centro de Investigaciones en Fitopatología (UB-CIDEFI)
    Calle 60 y 119 s/n c.c. 31, (1900) La Plata
    Tel: +54-221 423 67 58 ext. 423
    Fax: +54-221 425 23 46
    Email1: alippi@biol.unlp.edu.ar
    Email2: adrianaalippi@gmail.com

  • Paratuberculosis + Tuberculosis

    Dr. Bernardo Alonso
    Gerencia de Laboratorios (GELAB), Servicio Nacional de Sanidad y Calidad, Agroalimentaria (SENASA)
    Avda A. Fleming 1653, Martínez (1640), Pcia de Buenos Aires
    Tel: +54-11 48 36 19 92 / 11 73
    Fax: +54-11 48 36 19 92
    Email: balonso@senasa.gov.ar

BRAZIL

  • Newcastle Disease + Highly pathogenic avian influenza and low pathogenic avian influenza (poultry)

    Dr Dilmara Reischak
    Laboratório Nacional Agropecuário em Campinas – Lanagro-SP
    Unidade de Sanidade Aviária
    Rua Raul Ferrari, s/nº, Jardim Santa Marcelina,
    CEP 13100-105, Campinas SP
    Tel: +55-19 32.52.31.74
    Fax: +55-19 / 32.52.48.35
    Email: dilmara.reischak@agricultura.gov.br

  • Vesicular stomatitis + Foot and Mouth disease

    Dr Rossana Allende
    PANAFTOSA
    Av. President Kennedy 7778, 25040-000 Duque de Caxias
    Rio de Janeiro
    Tel: +55-21 36.61.90.64
    Fax: +55-21 36.61.90.01
    Email: rallende@paho.org

CANADA

  • Anthrax

    Dr Kingsley Amoako
    Canadian Food Inspection Agency
    National Centre for Animal Disease (NCAD)
    Lethbridge Laboratory
    P.O. Box 640, Township Road 9-1
    Lethbridge, Alberta T1J 3Z4
    Tel: +1-403 382 55 05 Fax: +1-403 381 8283
    Email: kingsley.amoako@inspection.gc.ca

  • Bovine spongiform encephalopathy

    Dr Stefanie Czub
    Canada Food Inspection Agency
    National Centre for Animal Disease (NCAD)
    Lethbridge Laboratory
    Township Road 9-1, P. O. Box 640
    Lethbridge, Alberta T1J 3Z4
    Tel: +1-403 382.55.49
    Fax: +1-403 382.55.83
    Email: stefanie.czub@inspection.gc.ca

  • Bovine viral diarrhoea

    Dr Oliver Lung
    Canadian Food Inspection Agency
    National Centre for Animal Disease (NCAD)
    P.O. Box 640, Township Road 9-1
    Lethbridge, Alberta T1J 3Z4
    Tel: +1-403 382 55 00
    Fax: +1-403 381 12 02
    Email: oliver.lung@inspection.gc.ca

  • Chronic wasting disease

    Dr Gordon Mitchell
    Canadian Food Inspection Agency
    Ottawa Laboratory (Fallowfield)
    Animal Disease Research Institute
    3851 Fallowfield Road, P.O. Box 11300
    Station H, Nepean, Ontario K2H 8P9
    Tel: +1-613 221.48.54
    Fax: +1-613 221.61.03
    Email: gordon.mitchell@inspection.gc.ca

  • Classical swine fever

    Dr Aruna Ambagala
    Canadian Food Inspection Agency
    National Centre for Foreign Animal Disease
    1015 Arlington Street
    Winnipeg, Manitoba R3E 3M4
    Tel: +1-204 789 20 13   Fax: +1-204 789 20 38
    Email: Aruna.Ambagala@inspection.gc.ca

  • Escherichia coli

    Dr John Morris Fairbrother
    The Escherichia coli Laboratory (EcL)
    Faculty of Veternary Medicine, University of Montreal
    3200 Sicotte Saint-Hyacinthe, Québec J2S 2M2
    Tel: +1-450 773.85.21
    Fax: +1-450 778.81.08
    Email: john.morris.fairbrother@umontreal.ca

  • Highly pathogenic avian influenza and low pathogenic avian influenza (poultry)

    Dr Yohannes Berhane
    Canadian Food Inspection Agency
    National Centre for Foreign Animal Disease
    1015 Arlington Street
    Winnipeg, Manitoba R3E 3M4
    CANADA
    Tel: +1-204 789 20 03
    Fax: +1-204 789 20 77
    Email: berhaney@inspection.gc.ca

  • Infection with Mikrocytos mackini

    Dr Gary Meyer
    Department of Fisheries and Oceans
    Pacific Biological Station
    3190 Hammond Bay Road, Nanaimo
    British Colombia V9T 6N7
    Tel: +1-250 756 70 34
    Fax: +1-250 756 70 53
    Email: gary.meyer@dfo-mpo.gc.ca

  • Infectious haematopoietic necrosis + Viral haemorhagic septicaemia

    Dr Kyle Garver
    Pacific Biological Station – Aquatic Animal Health Laboratory (PBS-AAHL)
    Fisheries & Oceans Canada
    3190 Hammond Bay Road, Nanaimo V9T 6N7
    British Columbia
    Tel: +1-250 756 73 40   Fax: +1-250 756 70 53
    Email: Kyle.Garver@dfo-mpo.gc.ca

  • Rabies

    Dr Christine Fehlner-Gardiner
    Centre of Expertise for Rabies CFIA/ACIA
    Ottawa Laboratory Fallowfield
    Animal Diseases Research Institute
    3851 Fallowfield Road, P.O. Box 11300
    Station H, Nepean, Ontario K2H 8P9
    Tel: +1-343 212 03 04
    Fax: +1-343 212 02 02
    Email: christine.fehlner-gardiner@inspection.gc.ca

  • Salmonellosis

    Dr Gitanjali Arya
    Laboratory for Foodborne Zoonoses
    Guelph Laboratory, Health Canada
    Public Health Agency of Canada
    110 Stone Road West; Guelph, Ontario N1G 3W4
    Tel: +1-519 862.26.40
    Email: gitanjali.arya@canada.ca

  • Scrapie

    Dr Gordon Mitchell
    Canadian Food Inspection Agency
    Ottawa Laboratory (Fallowfield)
    Animal Disease Research Institute
    3851 Fallowfield Road, P.O. Box 11300
    Station H, Nepean, Ontario K2H 8P9
    Tel: +1-613 221.48.54
    Fax: +1-613 221.61.03
    Email: gordon.mitchell@inspection.gc.ca

  • Trichinellosis

    Dr Brad Scandrett
    Centre for Food-borne and Animal Parasitology
    Canadian Food Inspection Agency
    116 Veterinary Road, Saskatoon
    Saskatchewan S7N 2R3
    Tel: +1-306 385.78.18
    Email: brad.scandrett@inspection.gc.ca

CHILE

  • Infection with infectious salmon anaemia virus

    Dr Sergio Hernán Marshall González
    Aquaculture Pathology Laboratory, Genetic and Molecular
    Immunology Laboratory of the Pontifical Catholic University of Valparaíso,
    Avenida Universidad, 330 Valparaíso
    Tel: +56-32 227.48.28
    Email1: smarshal@ucv.cl
    Email2: diagnostico@ucv.cl

CUBA

  • Avian mycoplasmosis (Mycoplasma gallisepticum, M. synoviae)

    Dr Evelin Lobo Riveroi
    MYCOLAB Laboratorio para diagnóstico de micoplasmas
    Centro Nacional de Sanidad Agropecuaria
    San José de las Lajas, Provincia Mayabeque
    Tel: +53-47 86.33.14 ext. 153
    Fax: +53-47 86.38.97
    Email: elobo@censa.edu.cu

MEXICO

  • Anaplasmosis + Babesiosis

    Dr Juan Joel Mosqueda Gualito
    Centro Nacional de Servicios de Constatación en Salud Animal (CENAPA)
    Carretera Cuernavaca Cuautla #8534
    Colonia Progreso, CB 62550, Jiutepec, Morelos
    Tel: +52-777 3.19.02.02
    Email: joel.mosqueda@uaq.mx

  • Rabies

    Dr José Alvaro Aguilar Setién
    Centro Nacional de Servicios de Diagóstico en Salud Animal
    Km. 37.5 de la Carretera México-Pachuca
    55740 Tecamac, Edo. de México
    Tel: +52 (55) 38 72 03 40
    Email1: estiviro@hotmail.com
    Email2: Laboratorioreferenciaoie@senasica.gob.mx

UNITED STATES OF AMERICA

  • Anthrax

    Dr Ginger Harvey
    USDA, APHIS, Veterinary Services
    P.O. Box 844 Ames, Iowa 50010
    Tel: +1-515 337 73 42
    Fax: +1-515 337 75 69
    Email: ginger.r.harvey@aphis.usda.gov

  • Aujeszky’s Disease + Swine influenza + Vesicular stomatitis

    Dr John Schiltz
    USDA, APHIS, Veterinary Services
    National Veterinary Services Laboratories
    P.O. Box 844
    Ames, Iowa 50010
    UNITED STATES OF AMERICA
    Tel: +1 515 337 75 51   Fax: +1 515 337 73 48
    Email: john.j.schiltz@aphis.usda.gov

  • Bluetongue + Eastern equine encephalomyelitis + Equine infectious anaemia + Venezuelan equine encephalomyelitis + West Nile Fever + Western equine encephalomyelitis

    Dr Tracy Sturgill
    National Veterinary Services Laboratories
    USDA, APHIS, Veterinary Services
    P.O. Box 844, Ames, Iowa 50010
    Tel: +1-515 337 79 29
    Fax: +1-515 337 73 97
    Email: Tracy.L.Sturgill@aphis.usda.gov

  • Channel catfish virus Disease + Enteric septicaemia of catfish (Edwardsiella ictaluri)

    Dr Larry A. Hanson
    Fish Diagnostic Laboratory
    College of Veterinary Medicine
    Mississippi State University
    P.O. Box 6100, Spring Street Mississippi 39762
    Tel: +1-662 325 12 02
    Fax: +1-662 325 10 31
    Email: hanson@cvm.msstate.edu

  • Contagious equine metritis + Leptospirosis

    Dr Matthew M. Erdman
    National Veterinary Services Laboratories
    USDA, APHIS, Veterinary Services
    P.O. Box 844, Ames, Iowa 50010
    Tel: +1.515 337.75.65
    Fax: +1.515 337.75.69
    Email: matthew.m.erdman@aphis.usda.gov

  • Equine viral arteritis + Equine rhinopneumonitis

    Dr Peter Timoney
    Maxwell H. Gluck Equine Research Center
    Department of Veterinary Science
    University of Kentucky
    108 Gluck Equine Research Center
    Lexington, Kentucky 40546-0099
    Tel: +1-859 257 47 57 ext. 81094
    Fax: +1-859 257 85 42
    Email: ptimoney@uky.edu

  • Equine influenza

    Dr Thomas M. Chambers
    Maxwell H. Gluck Equine Research Center
    Department of Veterinary Science
    University of Kentucky
    108 Gluck Equine Research Center Lexington,
    Kentucky 40546-0099
    Tel: +1-859 257 47 57
    Fax: +1-859 257 85 42
    Email: tmcham1@uky.edu

  • Foot and mouth disease

    Dr Consuelo Carrillo
    National Veterinary Services Laboratories
    USDA-APHIS-VS
    Foreign Animal Disease Diagnostic Laboratory
    Plum Island Animal Disease Center
    P.O. Box 848, Greenport, NY 11944
    Tel: +1-631 323.32.56
    Fax: +1-631 323.33.66
    Email: consuelo.carrillo@aphis.usda.gov

  • Highly pathogenic avian influenza and low pathogenic avian influenza (poultry)

    Dr Mia Torchetti
    National Veterinary Services Laboratories
    USDA, APHIS, Veterinary Services
    P.O. Box 844, Ames, Iowa 50010
    AMERICA
    Tel: +1-515 337 75 90
    Fax: +1-515 337 73 48
    Email: Mia.Kim.Torchetti@aphis.usda.gov

  • Newcastle disease

    Dr Mia Torchetti
    National Veterinary Services Laboratories
    USDA, APHIS, Veterinary Services
    P.O. Box 844, Ames, Iowa 50010
    Tel: +1-515 337 75 90
    Fax: +1-515 337 73 48
    Email: Mia.Kim.Torchetti@aphis.usda.gov

  • Rabies

    Dr Ryan Wallace
    Poxvirus and Rabies Branch
    Division of High-Consequence Pathogens and Pathology National Center for Emerging and Zoonotic Infectious Diseases
    Centers for Disease Control and Prevention
    1600 Clifton Road, NE, Mail Stop G33, Atlanta, GA 30 333
    Tel: +1-404 639.10.50
    Fax: +1-404 639.15.64
    Email1: euk5@cdc.gov
    Email2: vao9@cdc.gov

  • Taura syndrome

    Dr Arun Dhar
    Aquaculture Pathology Laboratory
    School of Animal and Comparative Biomedical Sciences,
    University of Arizona, Tucson, AZ 85721
    Tel: +1-520 621 87.27
    Fax: +1-520 626.56.02
    Email: adhar@email.arizona.edu